PDA

View Full Version : Official Unofficial 2013 Cross-Country "Rankings" Thread

Remylive
04-29-2013, 10:11 PM
Since my team resides in souther section division II that's what I'll post.

Disclaimer #1: "All I know is that I don't know"
Disclaimer #2: These so-called rankings are really observations. I have little to no knowledge of coaching changes, transfers, incoming freshman or news of debilitating injuries that might alter the information below. Most schools are one top newcomer away from being a Southern Section power. Just last year South Torrance had freshman track standout Kim Coscia come out for XC in 2012 only to be joined by the freshman Beadoin sisters and WHAM! They're one of the top teams in the section.

On to the rankings:
1) Simi Valley: Although they competed at the division one level last year, I have a hunch they will be division two this year and the pre-season favorites. There's two reasons for this. 1) Sarah Baxter and 2) Sarah Baxter! It always helps to start your scoring with 1-point, but Sarah Baxter also makes her teammates better. Her very presence in races has elevated her Pioneer teammates to new levels of confidence and performance. Add to that 10:47 3200m runner Charlotte Utash and they become tough. But they also boast a strong and experienced junior class that has been through the wars. Desirae Jones, Samantha Tetef, Olivia Roselini and Sarah Riggs have all hovered around 18:00 at Mt. Sac the last two years. This combination of talented front-runners and a fast, deep, pack make them the pre-season favorites in division two and hungry for their first state title after finishing 3rd last year in division one.